top of page

Medals of Merit & Recognition


The Army Cadet Service Medal

To qualify for this award, a serving Cadet must have successfully completed four years of honourable service with no serious infractions, and be recommended by the Cadet Corps Commanding Officer.


The Royal Canadian Legion (RCL) Cadet Medal of Excellence.

This medal is awarded to a Cadet who, over many years, has actively participated in community service activities and works exceptionally well with fellow Cadets, volunteers and unit officers. The Cadet must also consistently promote esprit de corps, comradeship, goodwill, and enhance the image of Cadets in their local community.

​This medal is selected by the Commanding Officer on the advice of Corps officers and NCOs.


The Army, Navy and Air Force Veterans in Canada (ANAVETS) Cadet Medal of Merit.

One medal shall be awarded at each CTC to the Top Cadet for each Instructor level course.


The Cadet Award of Bravery.


This award is given to a Cadet who performs an outstanding deed of valour involving risk of life in attempting to save the life or property of others.


The Order of St. George.


This award honours Staff Cadets who distinguish themselves in their exemplary contribution at a CTC during the summer training period.

​The Cadet must meet all requirements of the CTC and has demonstrated outstanding leadership and compassion for subordinates. He/she is able, through different leadership techniques, to motivate subordinates to do what was required, has completed three years as a Cadet, has participated in community service events that the CTC promotes during the summer, and has demonstrated leadership qualities and instructional abilities.


The Lord Strathcona Medal.


This is the highest award, which can be bestowed upon a Cadet in recognition of exemplary performance in physical and military training.

This medal is selected by the Commanding Officer on the advice of Corps officers and NCOs.


The Major-General W. A. Howard Medal.

This award will recognize the cadet in each province and territory who has achieved the highest results in the 4th year (Gold Star) training level annually as they prepare to enter into the Year 5 (Master Cadet) level.

Approving authority for this award is the Army Cadet League of Canada.


The Volunteer Service Medal.


This award is bestow upon a member who have successfully completed a minimum five continuous years of meritorious service with the Army Cadet Program.

This medal is is recommended by the Branch or the National level where the member has served.

bottom of page